holsters

Holsters are a necessity of you want to carry; comfortable holsters are important, secure holsters  more so, price becomes a matter depending on how many holsters you want/need.  Then, what holsters are available for your firearm.

As a larger size woman, who works from home, and tends to wear extremely casual clothing, the holster issue is HUGE!  First off, my carry choice is a Ruger LCR.  While considered a small J frame, the trigger guard is a different size and shape than the S&W, which is the standard for J frames.  So there are J frame holsters, like my Forbus paddle waist band holster (which is a molded Kydex holster) that are built for the S&W, and then there are generic holsters.  With the Forbus,  the difference in the trigger guard is obvious.  It does hold the Ruger securely, but you can see that they are not soul mates.  Also have a leather waistband holster from Pistol Packaging Inc.  They call it their Mag-Jic Holster.  This is a more generic medium pistol/revolver holster.  The leather flap folds over the waistband and the magnet is mounted on the holster itself and is quite strong.  The leather can be molded or left as delivered.  While I’ve molded mine, the magnet does NOT add in the retention of the gun in the holster and the leather is so thin that even molded, there is no secure hold.  Today it fell out while I was bending over in the yard.  Fortunately, it was my yard!

Now, why was I wearing this magnetic holster rather than the Forbus?  The magnetic holster can be worn either in the waistband or out.  In this case, I’ve taken what would be a left side OWB holster and IWB, cross draw.    It could also be a strongside IWB holster if I chose.  The Forbus is an OWB holster only whether I wear it strong side, or left hand cross draw.  Also, wearing a drawstring waist skirt, the forbus is so heavy it pulls the skirt down.  The magnetic holster does not, as long as I attach it to both my skirt and underwear.  A different level of inconvenience.

Belts and fitted waistbands are not part of my daily wardrobe.  When wearing one of my dresses, I opt for an ankle holster.  Wore out one in just a matter of months!  Also, the gun gets mighty dirty.  not as much of an issue with the revolver as it would be with a pistol, still, would rather keep my gun clean.  Am considering a thigh holster, and hope to find one that will be comfortable on my BIG leg.  Do not see anything comfortable with a flash bang holster!

My best holsters are two old time leather ones picked up at a gun show for $15 each.  One holds my S&W model 19, 6″ barrel perfectly.  Just need a strong belt and a place to put it.  The other is a shoulder holster that will comfortably hold my S&W 459, the Ruger P95, or my Springfield V10.

And I’ve got a GunTotin Mama bag that is okay only.  Through the winter wore a regular purse and kept my 38 in a pocket holster tucked into the center compartment of the purse.  While smaller than my GTM bag, it held the gun better and left me adequate room for my other daily gear.  but in the house, working in the yard, walking the dog, don’t carry a purse. 

There is another aspect of the waistband issue for women, we tend to be higher waisted than men.  Which is why I wear the cross draw holster.  To pull from a strong side waistband, particularly if the pistol is mounted as high as some holsters hold them, my elbow is going to be somewhere up around my ear level just as I reach to draw.  Then I have to pull UP from there and get it out.  Such an obvious contortion will call attention to what should be a surreptitious movement.

In the world of women being different from men in relation to their wardrobes, guess holsters should be no different.  Men can usually get away with one waistband style holster whether casual or formal or office wear.  women just have to have a selection for different styles and occasions.  Hmmm, wouldn’t it be nice if we could all open carry and then it would just be a nice rhinestone holster for evening, and practical leather for day.

One thought on “holsters

  1. I, too, as a large woman, am having trouble finding the right holster. I bought the flah bang for my Ruger LC9, and its actually much more comfortable than you might think. The only problem is reholstering while still wearing it. The button is so strong that only my husband can get it open, o I have to slide the whole thing on and off my bra. When practicing, I’m trying to learn how to reholster it without having to take the whole thing off, but it’s difficult, and once I ended up with a pretty bad skin pinch!

    I’m having a hard time decided on while holster I want to try next. I hate spending a lot of money just to “try” something. But I’m in the same boat as you – I don’t wear belts (do any large women wear belts?) and when I’m at home, I’m usually in sweat pants – and even the weight of my cell phone in my pocket makes my waistband sag a bit.

    As many videos/reviews as there are out there for women, most of them are for smaller sizes. I wish somebody who has the experience could post video reviews of holsters for the larger size woman.

Leave a Reply

