women shooting

This is a blatant plug for the Well Armed Woman shooting chapters.  Carrie started this business several years ago to bring information, gear and empowerment to women shooters and it has EXPLODED.  One of the first of the women focused shooting businesses out there,  she has started shooting chapters, which have caught on in pretty much every state.  These are local groups organized and run by local women – all NRA shooting instructors.  Women teaching women.

There are none in my immediate town, at least an hour’s drive to get to the nearest whether I go north or south.  The one to my north meets on weekdays, so went south yesterday.  about 30 members, 13 showed up, 5 hit the range afterwards.  Yes, they are all set up for range time after.  Yes, you pay for the range time, but usually discounted for members of the chapter.  Good time for instruction and to learn discipline (which I sorely lack after too many years shooting on informal outdoor ranges without professional instruction).

Admit, it was a little disconcerting to feel my ejected cartridges bouncing off my head!  They were hitting the side walls and bouncing back on me.  The first one was a surprise, then it became common place as they were not hitting my face.   Shredded my target!!  Good times!!

So while some women lunch, and some meet to knit and quilt, I’ll be heading to the range with the girls!

Strongly suggest checking them out!  ALSO, many ranges are recognizing women are taking to shooting big time and are starting to cater to them with special classes and similar groups.  Also a wider range of shooting products; particularly carry purses.  While I have a great Roma purse, I’m a woman and like to be able to switch styles now and again so looked at the HUGE selection the store had.  Since my guns are all BIG (full size – no compacts) that limits the purses I can use.  Found a beauty but when I looked at the price ($387!) figured I would rather buy another gun!!  Was looking at a nice Ruger .380 semi auto.  A little bigger than most I’ve seen and very tempting for under $400!!  A nice back up gun option.

Leave a Reply

