unexpected consequences

Yesterday fell off my Trike.  and it hurt!

Bought my Trike for several reasons, but one of them was because we live a little more than a mile UPHILL from a year round creek, which would be our only water source when the storage tanks run out, SHTF.  and our 3000 gallons of water storage would only last about a month of garden watering alone if there’s no rain.  Humping gallons of water from the tank would not be fun, but hauling a few gallons at a time with a vehicle would make it all so much easier.

Hence, the Trike.

So yesterday went over that way to see how steep that hill really is and can I get up it with a loaded Trike!

and the short answer is NO

As mentioned in another post gained 25 lbs last year and that puts me close to the max weight allowance for the Trike.  and I don’t have the leg power to assist the motor.  Ended up running backwards, one wheel went off the pavement, swung the bike across the slope and there was no place to go but tip over!

And when I hit the ground, my gun, which is in a belly band off to the side for cross draw, slammed into my arm with all my body weight.  It took me awhile to realize why my arm hurt so much as I don’t think about the gun in that way.

Being 68, am really lucky that I was able to pick the trike up, put the chain back on it, and pedal home, instead of ending up in the hospital with broken bones.  Seem to have just sprained my forearm.  Although last night was wondering if I didn’t need the ER!

So besides having to lose weight, have to get stronger leg muscles, and keep doing those exercises that keep my bones strong!

Which is why prepping is about our health and strength as much as it is about canned goods, dried rice, and water!!

Leave a comment